Shift: Jill-of-all-trades vs. Mastery

It’s been a very long while since I made a review of something and I am really trying to be very commited to my blog now. I miss blogging before my work fully consumed all my hours leaving little time only for sleep.
So, last Friday, I watched this indie film titled Shift, a film directed by Siege Ledesma. It was not a Cinemalaya entry but a Cinema One original that’s why even if it was released last 2013, I think it only came to my radar by 2014. There were very good reviews about the film but what got me hooked into it is Yeng Constantino. I must say I am really late in admiring the talents of Yeng – I thought she was like one of those artists that come and go but she proved me not. She doesn’t even follow the hype of most pop artists but carefully made her own path and for that I truly admire her.


Enough of that, I watched this film in Teatrino, I was kind of torn actually because that day is also the EP album launch of Headlights by Save Me Hollywood. Both once-in-a-lifetime event. But I cannot be at two places at one time so I chose Shift – maybe because I was lusting for it for a year now.
The movie is about Estella (played by Yeng) who works as a call center agent, that has many, many artistic talents like singing/songwriting, poetry making and photography but had lost her passion in her work as a call center agent that’s why she is given a mentor, Trevor (played by Felix Roco), a cheerful and bright colleague. As the story progresses, Estella finds herself falling for Trevor, however the major catch of this is that he actually has a preference for men.
The story involves the struggles you face in the call center industry, of falling in love for a person who would certainly not catch you, of finding your place in this vast, vast world, of choosing between practical and passion and of being able to do everything but no mastery over something.
I can very much relate to Estella’s character. I am one of the many people who is sidelining as an artist while doing work in the corporate life. And sadly, this is true- you earn this amount of money just so you can fund your hobbies/ artistic nature. If only we can do what we are passionate about and get paid for it then we would have no problem feeling robots at work, don’t we? Maybe Estella is the person I would like to become – all the hipster and indie whatnots – and she is already very great in her craft/ crafts, whereas I am just starting out.
The part where she is singing Bipolove, a very great song, is the part where I felt almost crying. I felt what it was like to love and heartbroken at the same time. And towards the end of the story where the question was raised. I am actually satisfied that the film made you wonder if they were actually going to work out.
Also, the scene with Alex Medina is very awesome. It oozes with all the elements of being real and natural.

SPOILER ALERT! The confession scene is well played. I mean- it is really what happens in real life. You don’t get grand gesture of a confession because guys are not heroes in movies (well, what do I know?) and when your confession is not reciprocated positively, the situation becomes awkward. And maybe the timing was to blame. She is free but it’s too late for you to start liking her but when you do, she found somebody else to love. Oh! If only you got there earlier. And maybe it is me talking but I like those kind of guys that starts joking when the situation becomes awkward.
Now that I get that out of the way, I must say, who wouldn’t fall for Trevor? He is caring, he makes you laugh and actually when a guy is very caring and makes you laugh and do all sorts of things with you- a girl can’t help but fall.
The film was beautifully-written, well executed and with an awesome soundtrack that makes you feel what the characters are portraying- add the actors that portrayed the role very great- this film is a hundred times more awesome than the overrated love story they show on public cinemas. (Oh! I have nothing against local movies, really, some of them was good, too)
Not a lot of people might find Estella endearing or relatable because let’s face it, even if there are so many Estella in all of us (juggling corporate life and artistic passion) we may represent only a minor percentage of the population.
Maybe that’s why I really liked this film – it is not mainstream. I would really like this to be watched by a lot of people but sometimes, when a lot of people knew about something, it loses its essence, its artistic feels and aesthetics and it will only be called a good movie. And that is the problem with me- I don’t like something I value highly be reduced to that kind. But I guess, that is really what’s happening. More people will watch, more profit and then eventually more funds to make more amazing and endearing films. It doesn’t matter if more or few people knew its subtance, after all, we are entitled to our own opinion and we’re given different sets of eyes so our views and perspective were different from each other. And what is with my rant? It is not even mine to begin with. 😊
Most people will say, I’m madamot but I really like those things that don’t appeal to the majority. It gives me the freedom to lose myself in something wonderful and feels like I can own it.
But before we can dive deeper in this, the ending scene is so good it leaves you hanging. Yeah, I’m a sucker for good ending scene ever since I watched Sana Dati with its symbolism effect.
“Yes, I am Jill-of-all-Trades, master of none. ”
“You don’t have to master anything, you just need to love your work, mastery is a bonus.”
This conversation filled my spirit of hope. Of hope that even if you are not very good in something, it is not important. What’s more important is that you like/love what you do. After all if you continue to do what you love- there might come a time that you will be very good at it. Trust the process. You don’t do something and become very great overnight. The feels.
And the last, “How do you see yourself five years from now?”. Darn! This is the question that I really hate during job interviews. And hearing this is this film makes me think about it again. Because honestly, I don’t have an answer.
Most of us do things in the present because we only like things present tense. But how many of us are doing the things they love in the present that will still make significance in the future?

Leave a Reply

